~Ruined~ Book Review

Name: Ruined

Author: M.C. Frank

Rating: 4.5

IMG_1140

Summary from the back of the book:

The duke of Ashton sits at the opera at Vauxhall Gardens, bored out of his mind, and plans murder. He curses the day that brought the little governess, destitute and sad, at his door eight months ago, to upset his careless if a bit meaningless existence. How could he have guessed the terrible, evil secrets she was hiding? And now that he knows all, the truth appears wilder, even more despicable than even he could have imagined. He hadn’t counted on losing his heart to her, of course, but he did. What he doesn’t know is that a tendril of the shadows of madness and sin that followed Beatrice to his door is still out there, looking for something to devour. The only one who can save him from the darkness is the girl herself, but he knows he’ll never see her again. He who once prided himself on his indifference to other human beings, feels his chest constrict with pain every time he even thinks of her. Beatrice, smart, gentle, kind-hearted, lovely. Ruined. A perfect blend of darkness and light, this Regency reverse retelling of Jane Eyre will break your heart as well as uplift it.

My Thoughts:

I was so surprised at how much I loved this book. I haven’t read Jane Eyre so I wasn’t sure what to expect, but this book just blew me away with everything from its writing down to the overall message. If I’m honest, it started out a little bit confusing for me. I don’t know if it was because I was distracted or what, but it was difficult to grab hold of the characters in the first chapter. ( I sometimes have a rough time starting new books and grasping the new characters in my mind – so that had nothing to do with this particular book, just my own mind not working correctly haha) However, once Beatrice was introduced, the story took off and I could not get enough of it; and as the story was developed, the opening chapter fully made sense to me!

The character development was incredible. Beatrice was revealed bit by bit of her intense background and personality. It was devastating and humbling. Dominic was also revealed bit by bit about his background and personality. His was heartbreaking and eye opening. Together, their story was devastatingly beautiful, while offering a true sense of hope. [It reminded me that no matter what hurt our past holds, we should never fully close ourselves off to opening our hearts to new people. You never know what that person can add to your life!]

There were twists and turns in the story that I didn’t see coming and it kept me flipping pages late into the night until I finished it. I highly recommend this book and I really look forward to reading more from this incredibly talented author!

Thank you so much M.C. for sending this to me for review. I will cherish this story for a long time!!

Leave a Reply

