~TH1RTEEN R3ASONS WHY~ Book Review

Name: TH1RTEEN R3ASONS WHY

Author: Jay Asher

Rating: 5

Summary from the back of the book:

You can’t stop the future. You can’t rewind the past. The only way to learn the secret…is to press play.
Clay Jensen doesn’t want anything to do with the tapes Hannah Baker made. Hannah is dead. Her secrets should be buried with her.
Then Hannah’s voice tells Clay that his name is on her tapes – and that he is, in some way, responsible for her death.
All through the night, Clay keeps listening. He follows Hannah’s recorded words throughout his small town…
…and what he discovers changes his life forever.

IMG_0980

My Thoughts:

This. Book. I was honestly hesitant to read it at first because it was another book about suicide. There have quite a number of books that I’ve read on this topic and some of them I really didn’t like because it came off like it was almost glorifying the character’s decision of committing suicide. Thankfully, this book was not like that and I am so glad I read it. It was a very intense read and obviously dealt with a heavy topic. However, it really made you think about how you’re living your life. Are you living it in your own bubble, making sure you’re doing everything for yourself and not paying attention to anyone else? Or are you paying attention to others and loving them as best you can and making an effort to truly get to know them? Now, I’m not saying that every bad thing someone decides to do is preventable. That would be an impossibility, but what I am saying is that it’s important to make sure we are giving our time to others and not just to ourselves.

Okay, back to the book. It was impeccably written. I won’t give away too many specifics, but it switched back and forth between the point of view of two characters and it was very easy to follow. Even aside from the font switching, I could tell when the character would switch. The character development was beautiful and I got really attached to Hannah and Clay.

Sidenote: I read this book in two days only because I didn’t have time to read it in one. That’s how amazing it was. It was suspenseful, happy, sad, infuriating, and devastating. I also feel like it is an important read and I definitely recommend it to anyone high school age and up.

Leave a Reply

