~Before I Fall~ Book Review

Name: Before I Fall

Author: Lauren Oliver

Rating: 5

Summary from the back of the book:

Samantha Kingston has it all: looks, popularity, the perfect boyfriend. Friday, February 12, should be just another day in her charmed life. Instead, it turns out to be her last.

The catch: Samantha still wakes up the next morning. Living the last day of her life seven times during one miraculous week, she will untangle the mystery surrounding her death – and discover the true value of everything she is in danger of losing.

My Thoughts:

Wow. That’s all I could think as I set down this book. If I’m honest, I wasn’t sure that I liked the ending at first. I thought there was maybe a chance for a happier one. However, the more I thought about it, the more I realized the message the author was trying to send. And it is a powerful message. It’s a message about redemption, sacrifice, hope, and love. It’s a message to readers that life isn’t only about you, that everything is intertwined; that everything you do has an effect.  I don’t want to go into any details of the story because I don’t want to give anything away. But I will ask you some questions:

What if a tragic event happened in your life and you had the chance to redo it? What would you do to make sure it was the “perfect” day? Would you make it all about what you could do for yourself? Or would you do everything in your power to make it about someone else; to help make their life better? This book was so deep and well thought out that I will definitely be thinking about it for quite some time! I wasn’t sure that I would recommend it to the younger crowd, but maybe it would be good for teenagers to read it. It is a very thought-provoking, heavy read and I would be nervous that younger readers would miss the point the author was trying to make. However, I definitely recommend it to adults. It really makes you question how you’ve been living your life and if you’ve been focusing on the important things.

Last, this is being made into a film and I cannot wait to see it! What are your thoughts on this book if you’ve read it?

Leave a Reply

