Why Do I Read?

Before I dive into this loaded question, I’ll start off by saying I wasn’t always big into reading. I read when I was in grade school because it was required. And in high school, I would read the bare minimum just to be able to finish my assignment. Looking back now, I was clearly missing out!

Believe it or not, the Twilight series got me back into reading. I watched the first movie and thought, I think I want to read this! I fell so deeply in love with the story that it became a slight obsession haha. However, from there stemmed a beautiful relationship between me and books. So a big thank you to Stephenie Meyer for that!!

My favorite genre is…well everything. It honestly depends on my mood. I can read anything from romance to mystery/thriller to YA to classics. I mean how can you only pick one genre?!  Also, I never started planning on what to read in advance until I created my Bookstagram account. (@books_faith_love) In the past, I would always figure out what mood I was in and try to match a book to it. Now I’m planning my monthly TBR (To Be Read) list. I don’t always keep up with it, but it does help me read some books I may not have picked up for a while!

Now, the loaded question: Why do I read? Well for the most part, it’s an escape for me. I can start reading and I am no longer where I was. I am suddenly in this alternate universe where characters are born and major story lines are happening. I can put all my worries aside and let go of my stress. So can I say that reading is technically healthy for you?? 😉

I also read because it keeps my mind sharp and educated. I graduated from college 4 years ago so I’m no longer in a classroom learning. But reading consistently keeps my vocabulary up and imagination vivid. I’m not saying this to praise myself, but I’m saying it because it’s true. Anyone that reads will agree with me! I’ve found myself looking up words in a dictionary while reading because I want to know the definition of that word. I rarely did that for school! Does anyone else do that? Or is it just me?? haha So reading honestly motivates me to become more educated 🙂

Last, I love reading because it’s magical. Words are put together on pages, and an entire world is born. I’m fascinated by that!! It is a true gift to be able to write and I envy authors for being able to do that! I’ve always wanted to write but it was difficult for me to get my thoughts onto paper. So the next best thing for me to do is read what other authors have written 🙂 And I absolutely love it!!

So that is why I love to read! If you have any questions for me, fire away! I’d love to answer any you might have.

Leave a Reply

